Go Back   XBox-Sports Forum > General Section > General Banter

Old Jul. 15th, '10, 8:09 am   #1
Rip Winkle
Administrator

Aug 2008 6,492
Canada
Lightbulb What Makes This Place Tick

An old fart's perspective on XBS.
Heya fellas…kinda bored having my second cup of java this morning and got to thinking about how I came across XBS. Thought I would share the general vibe that I feel XBS gives off.

I am relatively new to the online/tech world…5 years I guess…heck I was still spelling “forum”...Form up until a couple of years ago….didn’t even know there was a difference….anyway I digress.

I am going to compare my experience here at XBS with that of my football crew that has been getting together every Sunday….for the last 13 years. To begin with the FC (football crew) are a very diverse bunch…I find it to be much like that here at XBS…I really think that is what keeps the community so interesting.

It is a funny thing the way we come across things…I was introduced to the football crew by sheer chance….actually we had a little game planned for the day after a work party….big mistake. As fate would have it I was the only guy to show up…so I did what any football fanatic would do and walked across the field to a group of guys playing ball and said…”Mind if I play?”…so funny. Well I came across XBS in a similar fate orientated manner. I had been on hiatus from gaming in general when I received an email from a person I consider a friend. They graciously invited me to check out a mature…stress free gaming site that they were involved in starting up…seemed to be exactly what I was looking for so without hesitation I hit up XBS. I have to say Thank You Pete for showing me the way across that field…for being part of getting this site rolling…things like this don’t happen without guys like you…Peace Brother.